Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on

everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in

a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people

believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that

affect them.

These days people believe that allowing children to be responsible for their own decisions will make them self-centred, but others contradict them. While I agree with the second motion, I believe that both sides have reasons for their justification, and should be understood.

First of all, people believing in the society of self-centered individuals is entirely situational. An individual shouldn’t be allowed to make only their decisions. They should connect and learn the choices resulting in giving opinions and feedback on decisions. This will result in a healthier society that will not be full of self-centred individuals. It can be opposite if the individuals do not connect or share opinions.

On the other hand, societies are filled with many people, and it is infrequent for a community to be filled with introverts who do not connect. Thus we can consider that it is logically impossible for a society full of individuals who only think about their wishes. Giving children responsibilities for making their own decisions is necessary for their personal growth and the rest depends on nurture. A child making choices in a bad environment will only nurture him to be a self-centred person. In contrast, one in a pleasant surrounding will consider the effects on society when making decisions.

To sum up, children should be allowed to make their own decisions as it is essential to feel independent, but the results will matter in the nurture of children. If everyone is appropriately nurtured, a self-centred society of individuals will not exist, but one that focuses on growth for all individuals.