Online classes make conventional classrooms unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the inexorable innovations in the fields of science and technology have tremendously influenced the way lectures are delivered. It is now widely asserted that e-learning will eventually make traditional classroom become redundant. While there are some rationales behind this view, I strongly advocate that the traditional way of teaching will not be replaced by online classes in the foreseeable future.

First and foremost, it is understandable why this notion receives a significant amount of support from the bulk of the public. One of the superior features of virtual learning is its convenience as well as time and cost efficiency. This can be attributed to the fact that students can attend classes wherever they are, there would not be a need to get lectures directly in classroom. As a case in point, this trend will afford learners a cutback in petrol prices that have gone through the roof for the past few years. Additionally, web-base classes cater for a wider range of learners, from pupils pursuing formal education at school to working people seeking to cultivate certain skills for their professions. For the aforementioned reasons, online courses are gaining traction in a host of places worldwide.

Nevertheless, there are compelling reasons that make physical classroom irreplaceable . Some subjects require elaborate lab set-up and equipment to be understood further. This situation manifests itself starkly in the fact that there is a significant demand for experiments to be carried out in natural science subjects such as chemistry and physics. Another advantage of studying directly is more two-way interaction with teachers. Traditional classroom model allows students to ask questions more freely compared to e-learning. Moreover, lecturers can often have more control over students and are able to supervise their studies more closely. As a result, online education could not replace the traditional methods of learning.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the justifications behind the belief that e-learning will one day make physical classrooms unnecessary, I assume that there will be no way this form of learning can take the place of brick-and-motar schools.