Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is hard to overstate the unshaken importance of food to people's wellbeing. However, people are still divided on whether the science of food should become an official subject at school. While it is believed that students should learn the importance and preparation of food, opponents of this contend that other academic subjects are more crucial. Despite some rationales behind both ways of thinking, I strongly advocate the need to study both groups of subjects

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the science of food is a vital subject that needs to be incorporated to the school curriculum. First and foremost, this field of science enables students to be equipped with knowledge about the nutritional values of food. They get a chance to know more about how to build a balanced diet that allows them to stay healthy and keep fit, which has become a topic of interests in the busy and hectic society. As a case in point, the subject teaches students that junk food and fast food are detrimental to their health, whereas vegetables are rich in nutritions and should be added to their daily meals. Additionally, cooking and preparing food is an essential skill they need to cultivate to survive on their own. This can be clearly seen in the case of undergraduates studying away from home, which requires them to be independent of their parents and know how to take care of themselves. Therefore, it is wholly warranted that the science of food should be given more attention in the academic environment.

On the other hand, there are compelling reasons why students should focus on academic subjects at school. These subjects can provide students with professional knowledge for their future careers as well as develop critial and logical thinking, which is pivotal in this era of inexorable development in various aspects of life. Furthermore, a tertiary degree, which can be obtained with the knowledge from these subjects, can boost students' opportunities of getting a stable job and earning a decent living in such a demanding job market. For the aforemention reasons, it is asserted that time and effort should be allocated to academic subjects instead of studying about food.

In conclusion, notwithstanding justifications behind both viewpoint, I believe that both academic subjects and the subject of food science and preparation should be made part of the school curriculum.