Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is hard to overstate the great importance of natural resources, especially fossil fuels, to human beings’ life. For centuries, they have been the sole source of energy to provide us with necessities in our daily activities. However, this is no longer the case as renewable resources are being introduced in a myriad of countries. This essay will look at both drawbacks of this trend, before pointing out how the disadvantages pale in comparisons with the advantages.

On the one hand, opponents of alternative sources of energy have compelling reasons for their disapproval. First and foremost, the cost of alternative sources of energy is exorbitant. As a result, the use of them may be limited to developed and rich countries, where a colossal amount of money from the government budget can be allocated to these resources. Additionally, power generated from renewable source is considered to be reliable. This situation manifests itself starkly in the case of wind power plants and windmills, which can only be erected in windy places such as coastal areas, etc., thus generating inadequate amount of electricity for daily uses. Therefore, alternative resources are not an effective replacement of conventional energy source.

Nevetheless, from my perspective, this is an extremely positive innovation in the energy industry. Compared to traditional energy sources, renewable ones are much more abundant and seemingly endless, which enables humankind to use them without the fear of running out as in the case of fossil fuels, which are becoming more and more precious these days. More importantly, sustainable energy resources are more environmentally friendly. For decades, the combustion of fossil fuels has been the primary culprit behind a mountain of carbon footprint, which could have dire repercussion for global warming and ice melting, threatening the survival of human race and wildlife species alike. Meanwhile, carbon- free energy can be a viable solution to this problem due to its feature of leaving no harmful effects on the environment. For the aforementioned reasons, it is suggested that these sources of energy should be harnessed in the interests of human beings.

In conclusion, notwithstanding some shortcomings of the new trend in the field of energy, I strongly advocate the use of alternative sources for the sustainability and prosperity of our planet.