Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is hard to overstate the inextricable relationship between the environment and humankind. However, for decades, people have done too much damage to the nature in their process of development, and the consequences of this are now unequivocal. In light of this, they are trying to find viable solutions to fix the environmental problems. While it is believed that the authority should take on this responsibility, opponents of this cite compelling reasons for the important role individuals can play in the process. Despite justifications behind both viewpoints, I strongly advocate the involvement of both groups of people to mitigate the severity.

On the one hand, it is justifiable why the government is the leading force in solving the issue. First and foremost, the governments have the authority to pass laws and legislation to control illegal behaviors that can have detrimental effects on the surroundings. As a case in point, people will be likely to keep on littering in public places without an official ban on this activity from the authority. Additionally, big sums of money from the government can be allocated to environmental projects and campaigns, raising people awareness and having widespread influence in certain problems. Therefore, it is believed that government plays an integral role in saving the planet.

Nevertheless, such measures would not be successfully implemented without the help from individuals. Ordinary people can contribute to the environment preservation by simply changing some of their daily habits. As each uses water more reasonably, avoids plastic bags and bottles whenever possible, taking a bus instead of using private vehicles on the daily basis, it will gradually pile up and enventually make a big difference to the whole situation. These are testaments to what people can do to fix the problems. Without their collaboration, the deterioration of our environment will continue, despite the government’s tremendous effort to save it.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the rationales behind both way of thinking, I believe that environmental protection is the huge responsibility that must be borne by everyone.