Online courses have removed the need for conventional classes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, technology has become extremely popular among the community. With that comes a lot of its applications in which includes online courses. These courses have made a very big impact on the education system, but would they be able to completely replace conventional classes? I think not, and here’s why.

Online classes are the delivery of a series of lessons on a web browser or on mobile devices. They are designed as an online environment for convenient learning asynchronously. Because of that, these courses can be taken anywhere and at any time of the day. Furthermore, they don’t require you to meet up with other people to study, which is quite crucial in the current pandemic. But the thing that makes the course stand out the most is its content. Unlike conventional classes, online courses usually only focus on one or two subjects at a time, making the knowledge gained throughout the-course much more in-depth than those at school. And of course, these subjects are selectable so you can optimize your study.

Despite that, online courses still have some major drawbacks. The first being the unreliable manner of the Internet itself. There are hundreds upon thousands of courses online and among them are internet frauds, designed to scam your money for some mediocre contents. Another serious problem is how easy students can cheat while taking a test. This can result in an under qualified generation of learners, directly affecting the economic growth of the world. The last and also the most important factor, people will not give you usable certification when you finish an online course. So if you only take these courses, there is a high chance that you will be unemployed in the future. As such, online courses should only be considered as a complement for conventional classes.

All in all, even with its conveniences, online courses can’t and will not replace formal classes.