In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extend do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Nowadays, some people argue that the existence of paper-based newspapers or books might come to an end, as readers can enjoy everything they need through digital devices. However, I believe these traditional means of mass communication might continute to exist in a healthy way. Not only printed newspapers and books are very accessible to everyone but they also have proved to be a reliable source of information. This essay will provide explanation and give examples for my statements above.

To discuss about paper-based books and newspaper, firstly, they are very accessible to everyone. Big presses such as AP, The New York Times or BBC are still providing paper-based newspaper daily, and books written by best-seller authors receive more favor than the digital format. This can help people with limited access to technology be able to update national and international status in a timely manner. They are cheap, easy to purchase and of course, much easier to use than a smartphone, especially with senior citizens. For example, an issue of New York Times might cost a dollar or two daily, and with subscription, the amount of money one have to spend per month can be as low as 25 dollars. In comparision, this is much cheaper than buying a 400 dollars smartphone for the purpose of reading newspaper only.

Next, newspapers and books has proved to be a reliable source of information. During this digital era, the spreading of misinformation is nothing new, and tabloids journalists are always seeking for the shocking headlines. This act may cause negative impact to the society, as they sometimes create fear and mistrust on a specific topic. For example, misinformation about a new government policy can create bad attitude both online and offline. As so, traditional sources, such as books and newspapers, are usually used as a source for auditing information online.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of paper-based newspaper and books can ensure a healthy existence of these means of communication in the future. For me, the widespread accessibility and reliable source of information of these traditional methods can ensure a positive, accurately informed society.