ONLINE LEARNING IS GOOD AS FACE TO FACE LEARNING DO YOU AGREE

Since the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic, online classes have become the cornerstone of education. Some people assert that e-learning will soon take over the traditional way of teaching and learning, while others do not agree. Despite these conflicting views, I would argue that online learning is far superior to on-campus education considering the following reasons.

To begin with, students can be free from facing time-consuming commute and save more time. Undeniably, students can get instant instruction and interaction from counselors and professors at school. However, students can also receive information from online learning, which is not much slower than the traditional way. In addition, students can avoid being caught in the traffic jams, which allows them to spend more time on assignments. What’s more, the money spent on transport can be used for other useful things such as stationery and snacks, and it is very beneficial to those who live far from their school.

Efficient teaching is another benefit of online learning. Admittedly, traditional learning creates a distraction-free environment for students because schools can forbid students from using smartphones and laptops where they can play online games. Nevertheless, e-learning platforms such as Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams allow students to record and save their online lectures in computers or smartphones. Therefore, if students cannot follow the pace of their classes or forget what they have learned, they can review the knowledge through watching the video files they have stored in their electronic devices. Under the context of the traditional learning, teachers are required to spend a great deal of time tracking students’ progress while errors might occur due to teachers’ fatigue. In contrast, computer-assisted teaching can effectively enhance accuracy. Cutting-edge technology not only reduces the workload of teachers but also helps students to know their mistakes immediately.

Scheduling flexibility is the very thing that conventional learning cannot supersede. Some people might assert that students can gain hands-on experience that comes from a physical classroom because they can do something by themselves and take detailed notes. Yet, there is no appropriate substitute for the convenience caused by online learning. For instance, whether a night owl or a morning person can log in and complete his or her homework anywhere, anytime. Also, online learning provides the disabled access to education, thereby narrowing the gap between the needy and the normal students.

In conclusion, both of two views have their cons and pros, but still, I maintain that online learning is indefinitely preferable, as its beneficial effects far outweigh the rest.