the only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ever-increasing rate of traffic accidents, raising a concern of traffic safety. Because of this, the issue of how to make road safer for commuters every day is always a topic of debate. Some people think that the sole way to do this is for the government to administer heavier punishments on traffic offenders. While it may be true to a certain extent, I would argue that there are more viable solutions.

It is understandable why some people think that stricter punishment will be effective. The key rationale is that accidents occur because of reckless driving. Therefore, if the government imposes heavier fines or driving bans on drivers who commit traffic laws, the number of serious accidents will significantly decrease. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies the situations, since the drinking and driving law went into effect, alcohol – related accidents have fallen considerably. This is a testament to how stricter punishments contribute to the rise of road safety.

However, it does not always bring desire effects because accidents happen due to supar traffic infrastructure, and poor – quality vehicles. As well as above approach, it would be better for the government to improve road quality by conducting regular maintenance and vehicle inspections to ensure the best road condition for all. In addition, education is another holistic approach, people, especially young adults and teenager need to learn traffic laws, and drivers who want to have driving license have to take a tough driving test at driving schools. These will ensure better results and minimize the risk of accidents.

In conclusion, while it is necessary to give more serious punishments on unlawful drivers, I still believe that it is better to educate people about traffic laws and improve traffic infrastructure and vehicles quality.