The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the number of accidents is increasing remarkably because of many factors. Some people suppose that the government should establish much stricter punishments on driving offences while others believe that alternative measures are more effective. In my viewpoint, the government need to improve simultaneously two ways to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, it has many advantages for road safety when punishments are stricter. Firstly, people are afraid of fining money because they are hard to earn enough money to pay for bills, therefore, they drive more carefully. For example, students at the university have little money from their parents, so they can not buy food and clothes but for having errors in traffic. In addition to that, not only money but also their licences may be kept by polices. They can not drive by themselves in this period, so it is very inconvenient to move around. When they know these consequences, they will try to have a good perception of driving.

On the other hand, the government needs to improve the ethics of inhabitants which is the origin of road safety. For the most part, teachers teach students about traffic safety in extracurricular activities. As an example, as long as seeing red light, children will stop and wait for some minutes to move green light. Moreover, events about road safety must be celebrated regularly. Polices spread how to join in traffic precisely and give imagines about serious accidents.

To conclude, the government should consider punishing strictly and improve ethics simultaneously.