Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is undisputed that education is an essential support for people to help them attain their goals in the future, some opinions argue that becoming helpful for the community is the ultimate target that individuals should forward. But viewpoints are justifiable, but I personally lean towards the latter.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that education provides people the useful understandings which will assist them to achieve personal goals. Clearly, education can open pathways to new opportunities, both occupational and social. If people experience a complete process of the study with high quality, they can have more prospects to be able to choose an appropriate occupation with a paid-well salary. For example, a student will be required to complete the compulsory education over twenty years, which will provide them the knowledge and the skills they need to ensure a place at a good university.

On the other hand, I believe that the final purpose of education is creating successful people who can contribute to bringing benefits for the development of society. To begin with, students will someday be a part of a community and need the skills to exist within that society as thoughtful citizens. Whatever individuals study any sectors and select any jobs in the future, they certainly must have enough necessary knowledge to work and participate in activities in a group or a community. Therefore, they can create their own income, and at the same time, they also generate value for their community indirectly or directly. In other words, without education, a society would dissolve, no matter the quality of its constituents. The educational system is the basis for every sector and industry, and all areas link to each other to form a comprehensive society. For example, throughout education, people will learn the ways to behave and communicate with other people, as well as, how to survive in a common environment based on their professional understandings, which will be a fundamental platform for social evolution.

In conclusion, while education actually offers people crucial skills that help them achieve their expectations, I still keep the outlook that education should emphasize the goal of community benefit.