Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some studies report that the disappearance of small companies is occurring increasingly under the dominance of large multinational corporations that are becoming wider. Although this condition may be advantageous to a certain extent, I believe that its limitations still are much more significant.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the market predominant by large businesses brings some particular benefits. One of them is that the expansion of these companies can establish a union among countries around the world. In fact, with their big scale, these firms set up subsidiaries in many different countries to be more convenient for the distribution of goods and services, which forms chains of supply cross-border as well as a close relationship among the states in the commercial field. Additionally, consumers can enjoy a diverse range of products and services at comparative prices. Multinational companies often produce a lot of various items to meet the needs of consumers for every market segment from usual to luxury levels. Therefore, this helps customers have more choices to fit their budget, which small businesses are hard to implement due to capital issues.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages of the growth of global companies are greater than the above advantages. To begin with, the loss in small businesses may create a disturbance to a large company's supply chain. In addition to building more branches, most large corporations tend to cooperate with smaller firms to offer their products approaching closer to consumers, including minority areas. Hence, if these companies fail, the distribution can be delayed and influences significantly to international businesses' performance. A part from this advantage, the disappearance of small companies can lead to the unemployment rate crisis. It can be seen that under the serious impact of the covid-19 pandemic in the past two years, a lot of workers have fallen into unemployment. One of the major reasons for this situation is that the number of small-scale enterprises has been bankrupted as facing the pandemic's pressure.

In conclusion, while some benefits can be noticed when large global businesses are replacing smaller companies, I argue that negative aspects still prevail.