In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution.

With the advent of affordable automobile, traffic congestion is increasing day by day. It is the biggest problem in many cities around the world. One possible solution is to improve heavy taxes on car drivers and use this money to make public transport better. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this measure.

To commence with, the foremost benefit of such measure is that heavy tax would discourage the car owners from using their own cars instead they will start using the public transport which will reduce traffic on roads. Moreover, the increase usage of public transport will encourage the government to use raised funds to make the changes. For instance, people often do not use old buses and trains so high taxes would generate enough to make necessary changes.

Nevertheless, there are drawbacks to such a solution. Firstly, this would be a heavy burden on car owners. At present, taxes are already high for a lot of people and higher taxes means less money for people who do not have choice but to drive. As this will hit the people of medium or low class while the richer class will still afford these taxes which is not fair. For example, cabs are already expensive these days and further taxes will increase the prices which will decrease their income.

To conclude, this solution is beneficial to some extent to improve the situation but there are both advantages and disadvantages in implementing such policy.