In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In these days, the traffic congestion is probably the most controversial issues. It is argued that the authorities should release the heavy tax on a driver who owns a private vehicle and invest the money in developing public transit. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that taxing on the private car would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it could decrease a large number of vehicles on the road. In other words, instead of commuting by car, the employee could drive a bike or take public transportation. It is claimed that it could contribute to reducing air pollution in the metropolitan. Another reason is that it would help improve the old public transportation. This is because the governments invest the tax returns on developing public transit's facility. Consequently, the citizens would be more satisfied with public transportation's condition and take it more frequently.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First and foremost, there is a possibility that the car enterprise revenue will drop drastically. This is because plenty of sales will be affected by the heavy tax. This could lead to a huge loss of financial situation. Second, it is probable that it may occur an intense politic-related protest. For instance, the yellow vest protest in France happened in 2018, due to the increasing price of fuel.

In conclusion, there are plus points to heavy tax regarding reduction vehicle and improvement of old-fashion public vehicle. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of financial loss and political protest.