In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic jam is one of the problems in big cities, in order to reduce this problem, car owners’ taxation should be applied by government and the income by being applied this rule should possibly enhance public transportation. This essay will explain the benefits and drawbacks of this solution.

One the one hand, it can be surely admitted that, if the government applied rule on private transportations taxation, specifically cars, it would possibly limit the number of vehicles on the streets, leading to decreasing of congestion. By this, it seems that more and more individuals will use public transportation since they will consider the amount of tax that they should pay if they ride their own transportation. Giving some example, in many developed countries such as UK and Australia, the inhabitance more prefers to use public transportations. Because of this, they could improve their public transportations such as trains and trams. In addition, not only could they limit traffic jam, but reduce pollutant gasses as well. This means that air quality will increase so that respiratory diseases decline could possibly happen. For example, Japan has higher rate of public health since public transportation such as bullet trains is main transportation.

On the other hand, it can be said that private transportation taxation is quite costly so that it could possibly cause the decline of people’s earnings as they have to pay for higher taxes, especially for cars owners. This is obvious that most of their earnings would be possibly spent on paying tax. Providing some evidence, people who have more than one car are suffer from this rule. Furthermore, cars’ selling industries is the most affected sectors. If the government adjusted this rule, it would harm the cars’ industries inasmuch public transportation is the chosen one for people, causing the disadvantages for cars’ seller.

In conclusion, it can be seen that the benefits of private transportation taxation are reducing of traffic jam and increasing of air quality. The possible drawbacks of this rule are people’s income declining and detriment of cars’ sellers.