A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possession. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent you do agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, traditional values like trust, kindness and honour are neglected and individuals are judged by their wealth. Personally, I firmly agree with this statement and this essay will explain why.

Today, it is evident that more and more people try to enhance their social status by collecting glamour items. By obtaining exposure from celebrities and influencers, there are many social values being neglected and replaced by modern standard, since people are eager to copy celebrities’ luxurious life. It means that people’s perception on social standards are changed. For example, in western countries, individuals are assessed by their position in workplace and expensive items. Moreover, life quality improvement is increasing so that people want to full fill their needs in order to level up their social status. By this, it can be said that there are standards which have to follow by them in order that the society could accept them. Because of this, conventional values are less considered as main source on how to behave in society. For instance, in big cities, society tends to judge people by their salary, house and car.

Admittedly, it can be seen that some people still follow traditional values since some old values are still related to current situation and according to them social values such as trust and kindness are worth to be applied. Nevertheless, being rich and having many costly items are not opposed to old social values and people could possibly apply it.

To sum up, I admit that many people leave social values due to fact that it is considered hard to be applied. Dealing with modern society, social status is more important and in order to get that, it could be possibly done by being rich and owning expensive items.