Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think it has disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports commercialization is viral topic so that many corporations are willing to promote their business with sports. Some people argue that making sports as advertisement tool could possibly emerge disadvantages, while other believe that it can benefit for the sports itself and the athlete. This essay will discuss the debate and provide a conclusion.

On the one hand, those who reject this statement consider that companies just think the profit which they could gain as much as possible without thinking the sportsmanship. It can be seen that there are many sports match which are fixed in order to fulfill fans satisfaction. This leads to decreasing of sport values since viewers concern about entertainment only. In addition, it is conspicuous that some sports’ branch has controversies due to scandals and using illegal substance. For example, in football and basketball, the sponsors force their athlete to consume illegal drugs in order that they can enhance their stamina, causing lack of morality for viewers especially the youngster.

On the other hand, some branch of sports gains a popularity caused by companies which advertise them, especially companies which focus on sport equipment such as Nike, Puma and Adidas. By this, it means that viewer do more sport activities because of advertisement of sports. Furthermore, it seems that not only do sport reach popularity but also the athlete obtain lot of income, inasmuch as companies provide allowance for them. Proponents of this view believe that it can increase athlete’s life quality and also their families since they obtain money from sponsors.

To conclude, I assume that commercialization of sport could provide lot of benefits for the sport and the athlete since the companies can make viewer be interested to do sport and provide income for the athlete. This is as long as the companies are able to manage their viewer and never force their athlete.