Overfishing of the world s oceans threatens many species with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk What are the causes of this problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening

It is true that excessive fishing all over the world has led to the extinction of different kinds of animal and put people at risk. There are several reasons for this problems and various measures could be taken to improve the situation.

There are numerous reasons for over-fishing. This issue is caused by the increasing demand for fish as food. Nowadays, the population around the world has grown dramatically and this brings about the rising of over-fishing to fulfill human’s demand of food. One rationale that can be given to explain why this is happening is that there are so many illegal methods to catch fish such as dynamite fishing, using electric nets,… Those activities are more efficient, quicker and easier for fishermen and as a result, they would abuse it which lead to over-fishing.

Fortunately, several concrete steps could be taken to tackle this problem. First, the government could provide people with various kinds of food such as beef, pork,… to reduce the excessive fishing. In order to hold back the over-fishing, one more solution could be considered is that government should enforce more strict laws to ban illegal activities to catch fish. Besides, increasing taxes on huge fishing companies could also be a possible way to deal with this issue.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for over-fishing; however, different steps could be taken to solve the problem.