In the past important knowledge of culture and history was stored in museum. Nowadays information is freely available on internet therefore is no longer need for museum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

In the past, museums used to solely play the role of providing cultural and historical knowledge. However, as the world is becoming more digitally integrated, and with the invention of the Internet, giving humans a plethora of free information, museums have partly been considered as redundant. From my perspective, I am not in favor of this opinion for a number of reasons, which will be further elucidated in this essay.

To commence with, the necessity of museums is heightened regarding its emotional values. To cite an example, when people, especially the elderly and veterans, come to a historical museum and see worn-out clothes of the soldiers, and the damaged weapons during wartime in person, they can feel a sense of nostalgia. These individuals can take a stroll down the memory lane and vicariously go through the heyday they used to live in, again. In addition, younger generations can absorb a goldmine of historical and cultural knowledge by listening to the tour guides, helping them to immerse themselves into the world of the older eras. On the contrary, the Internet might not be able to deliver to those people such strong feelings, regardless of its ability to provide people with a reservoir of knowledge.

Another major factor contributing to the necessity of preserving museums is courtesy of the knowledge they can bring to foreigners. As can be seen in many cosmopolitan cities, not only museums are destinations of education for people within the nation but they are also of paramount importance when it comes to educating people from other countries at large. People of different backgrounds can come here to gain extra knowledge or another perspective into history. This, in turn, can enrich their common sense about the world and embrace the formative eras. Unlike the Internet which may be biased and slanted regarding some untrustable sources or websites.

In conclusion, although society has become more computerized, and the Internet has made it easier to get access to free information, museums remain vital for emotional and educational facets. All things considered, I am of the opinion that museums should be kept for future generations.