In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet, and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas knowledge and experience, and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, many people tend to work from home instead of traveling to their place of work, since the development of using the Internet, computers, smartphone, etc. However, this problem has both its advantages and disadvantages due to the following reasons.

On the one hand, working at home has a lot of benefits for both individuals as well as society. Firstly, related individual employees can reduce the time to move between home and the workplace, therefore, they may have more time to do their duties. Besides, the officers might feel more comfortable and convenient because they don’t need to wear office clothing and they can work in their own familiar room. Secondly, this development also has a large contribution to the community. The more people choose to work at home, the fewer vehicles appear on the road. Consequently, the rate of traffic jams and accidents will decrease significantly like the traffic situation during the nationwide lockdown due to COVID-19. Moreover, reducing the number of transportations will help lessen emissions to the environment, so it assists decrease air pollution.

On the other hand, working from home also has some drawbacks for both people and organizations. First of all, the officers may be hard to concentrate on their tasks because of neighbors’ noises such as building their house or babies’ cries. In addition, they may be easy to be distracted from their chores due to lots of electronic devices. Besides, online working doesn’t bring officers the work atmosphere, so it leads to a decrease in working efficiency. Finally, workers are limited in communication and interact directly with their colleagues, so they may have a reduced ability to communicate.

In conclusion, the development of working at home has both positive and negative aspects. However, I think if we can harmoniously combine working online and offline, it will bring great efficiency to work.