In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the advancements in technology, working remotely has given rise among workers, without commuting to their workplaces. While this change can be advantageous in some ways, the drawbacks caused by this are not negligible as well.

To begin with the advantages, flexible working hours and saving money are the major ones. Regarding the former, those who work from home can set their working hours depending on their preferences, and other tasks they should do at home. In contrast, in workplaces employees usually need to stay and do their jobs based on the schedule given to them. As a result, time sometimes lacks when the workers need to spend on some crucial activities, such as pursuing hobbies or raising the children properly, if they have any. As for the latter, it is transport fare that can cost a lot if a workplace is far from home. By working online, that amount of money can be directed to other essential things, purchasing something to meet needs, for example. Thus, working remotely can be of great benefit in these cases.

However, this trend also causes several issues, one of which is lacking socializing skills. When people work from home, they might interact with their colleagues less, which can lead to isolation and limited networking opportunities. Without the ability to connect with others effectively, individuals may feel left out, misunderstood, or disconnected from the world around them. Secondly, this trend may cause health ailments. The more time workers sit in front of the computer screen, the worse their health becomes, meaning the ray computers produce harms their eyesight, and may lead to regular headaches. Therefore, these negatives should not be ignored when working online.

In conclusion, despite some benefits in terms of flexible working hours and money-saving, this transition can also bring some issues, such as socializing and health problems.