In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Thanks to the development of technology such as the Internet and smartphones, individuals no longer have to go to workplaces to complete their tasks as they used to. Personally, I think that this trend brings about both benefits and drawbacks.

It can be said that working from home has some noteworthy positive points. The main strength of this is saving money and time. Indeed, if you travel to workplaces, there are multifarious kinds of fees that you have to pay such as petroleum, parking fees. In addition, it takes more time to be ready and travel to workplaces than do it at home. Moreover, people feel more comfortable when working at home, they are not observed by the managers. As a result, individuals are more enjoyable and creative, so they will do their job more effectively. Thus, work productivity might be increased.

On the other hand, there are some negative aspects of this trend that should be taken into consideration. The main disadvantage is the lack of necessary equipment, you may not have enough dedicated machines. As a consequence, work might not be completed as well as at the workplace. Another minus point of working at home is the lack of communication and interaction, which leads to some misunderstandings among employees. Furthermore, many people find it difficult to separate personal work from the general one. All the aforementioned weaknesses will affect negatively the work result.

In conclusion, working at home could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked