In the past people liked to store knowledge in books. However, in the present, we prefer to store knowledge on the Internet. Do you think it is a positive or a negative trend?

In this contemporary epoch, it is apparent that the advent of “Cloud Database” has been altering the way people accumulate information over the past few years. This results in an emerging phenomenon that instead of saving knowledge in books, they tend to keep it on technological libraries. From my perspective, this brings both positive and negative impacts on the accessiblity and individuals.

On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that we can derive plenty of benefits from storing resources online. To commence with, users are allowed to reserve a great deal of information on an unprecedented scale. It is possible for people to save data in larger quantities since books can be downloaded straightforwardly to compact portable devices. This also means less space is required, let alone the external factors such as weather or termites which prompts adverse influences in actual area, are no longer problematic. Furthermore, entering virtual knowledge is time-saving with the assist of cutting-edge technology. Looking for relevant materials is much more effortless nowadays on the ground of exploring with a few keywords in numerous digital user-friendly platforms, instead of following complicated directions just to get a piece of information in a book.

On the other hand, there are also some repercussions stem from archiving information on the Internet. First and foremost, users are at serious risk of being attacked by hackers and viruses. Although privacy regulations are introduced, it is doubtful whether cyber-crackers are able to steal them by any means. Hence, the likelihood of information vanishment is conspicuous to those whose majority of articles are reversed in cyberspace. In addition, spending great amount of time sticking our eyes on the screen prompts detrimental impacts on our health including optic and mental issues. If people made the best use of online books, the trigger of eyeshortedness, fatigue and obesity would be so hazardous that no measures can be taken to alleviate them.

In conclusion, considering the aforementioned points, I strongly affirm that the shift of information storage method to internet-based is a positive trend. However, it is advisable for everyone to weigh up the pros and cons as well as have a proper-and-radical usage of networked database.