Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the past decades, people’s views have differed on whether or not sports are leisure pursuits. While some people approve of this suggestion, I firmly believe that sport has an enormous impact on the community.

First and foremost, many think that sport should be considered an optional task to do on a day-to-day basis. To begin with, the initial reason why some people underestimate this kind of outdoor activity is owing to the perception that they should devote their time dealing with the financial burden, rather than taking up sports. Given that most adults' time was spent on work to pay their bills, they would struggle for balancing their lifestyles with any more doings, let alone exercises. Consequently, sport is not regarded as essential due to the fact that they may adversely influence jobs and opportunities to make more money. Secondly, many people disparage sport thanks to a lack of information on the advantages sport can bring - increasing productivity, preventing diseases, and lengthening our longevity. The depreciation in sport will continue until they are able to access this knowledge.

However, I still reckon that sport acts as a positive contributing factor to the improvement of society’s healthcare and prosperity on the whole. According to an Oxford case study on obesity in the US, England, and Australia, the noticeable consumption of high-cholesterol food is posing a threat to the governments on the rise of cardiovascular and diabetic patients. As a result, it is urgent to encourage residents to play sports, with a view to avoiding a sedentary lifestyle, thus improving their physical and mental health. Furthermore, sports festivals and events that are held annually make plenty of economic contributions to many nations. People living in these countries will no longer be in fear of unemployment since there would be numerous occupations given from tourism and commerce.

In conclusion, while many people disregard sport because they do not know the profits of playing sports in their lives, I side with those who value sports as one driver of societal development.