In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology has been offering countless potential for human’s development, especially in terms term of how humanity can retain and record information. This, however, sparks a heaty debate on whether, traditionally keeping information in written forms like books is better or utilising the internet for such knowledge recording is more optimal. They both have their merits; yet I believe that the latter later way of doing is potentially more beneficial.

Traditionally, before the advancement of technology and the Internet, ancient philosophers and scholars hadhas no other option but to keep track of their work and knowledge by transcribing it into books. This, in turn, has helped people to pass down such pristine and esteemed knowledge whereas without it, human development would have not been viable. Additionally, research has shown that school-aged children and even higher education students learn better and memorise for a longer period when reading from a physical book in comparison to its electronic counterpart. This is because booksbecause, books impart students with a sense students a sense of gravitas, which, in turn, help students student to focus better on the content of the book. In this sense, storing knowledge in books offers better outcomes outcome when it comes to learning. Nevertheless, my conviction is that using that, using books book for knowledge recording does come with risk including the deterioration of the physical books despite utmost bookkeeping. One of many prime examples for this is that countless numbers number of ancient books have has not been retrievable nor readable due to the conditions of the actual records such as missing pages, fading writings. Consequently, people have lost a good deal of knowledge that knowledge, that would have otherwise been passed down immaculately if the Internet were the storage of choice.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned reasons reasonings, I believe that electronic recording electronic way of recording is more viable. Storing knowledge on the internet means that it will be accessible within a click of a hand; thus, giving people the option to read despite their despite of their physical locations or times of the day. As a result, this might encourage people to read more as it eases the hassle of keeping an actual book everywhere they go. Additionally, retaining knowledge on the Internet means that such wisdom and valuable information will not be lost or damaged as the Internet offers an immeasurable storage without subjecting it to the subjecting to the corrosion of its surroundings or nor time. For instance, unlike differs from books, the Internet does not have a limit have limit in the number of pages nor its storing capacity; thus, people can record information up to millions and trillions of data without the fear of said information might be unretrievable one day. Moreover, by optimising the Internet for knowledge recording, people can effortlessly print such information and knowledge into physical books whenever and wherever they please, given that they have the appropriate tools and machinery and still always have a back-up of said information.

In conclusion, I believe that keeping that, keeping information and knowledge in an actual book does offer beneficial outcomes such as people learning learn better with physical books and there have not been many much viable ways of retaining information in the past but only using books. Nevertheless, utilising the Internet for such records and information keeping are more optimal as the Internet is infinite and the deterioration of the physical world has no effects upon its storing capacity and people can always make more copies copy of the information into physical books if they wish to.