In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

These days, more and more people tend to go shopping as a leisure activity, rather than a simple household task as in the past. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this is a positive change and will support my standpoint in this essay.

To commence with, going shopping on ocassion can be seen as an effective method of relaxation. Shopping allows people to be indulged in the world filled with attractive material goods, which ease their eyes and their mind. As a result, they are able to relieve the stress and depression of their workload and daily burdens. For example, teenagers often choose to visit a clothes store on the weekend or after stressful examiniations to entertain themselves and get rid of the previous worry and tension of the exam time. Moreover, being able to buy their all- time favourite dress will bring them a great sense of achievement and satisfaction.

Furthermore, sometimes, shopping is more an opportunity for people to spend time with their family and friends than just buying material goods. People enjoy taking their family out and hanging out with their friends on the weekend or some special occasions, in which case shopping malls will be a great choice. They can go along the shopping centres, choose clothes for each other and buy some food for the lunch while having some talk on the way. In this way, they will enjoy a period of relaxing time with their beloved ones, which contributes to strenthening the bonds among themselves.

To conclude, I can say in affirmative that going shopping regularly as a hobby serves people as a means of entertainment, and at the same time, cements the relationship of people with their family and friends.