People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In recent times, consumption of sugary drinks has increased, especially among adolescents. Within the scope of this writing, an attempt will be made to look at reasons and propose some resolutions.

One of the major causes is that there's so much soft drink marketing that it's cause high consumption that's primarily targeted at children and teenagers. This leads to a lot of health problems like obesity and diabetes. The remedy for this situation is that governments should levy a high tax on sugary drinks or run awareness campaigns about the negative effects of such drinks. In addition, it is possible to put health warning labels on the bottles to reduce consumption.

Another reason for the usage sugar-based drinks is that it gives a feeling of quenching thirst, refreshing when drinking and creating a sense of appetite when eating, making more people love this drink. Moreover, there is an addictive ingredient that is caffeine, so combined with the high amount of sugar in soft drinks will form a mixture that makes people's mood better and wants to use them many times a day and any occasion. To solve this problem people need to reduce their daily needs and gradually give them up.

In conclusion, although there are several problems of this trend, marketing is still the main cause and high tax on this drink is still the best solution in these days and ages.