People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In recent years, increasingly sugar-based beverages are consumed by people. This phenomenon can be attributed to numerous reasons, consequently has negative effects on health. However, there are several strategies can be carried out to address this issue.

People consume sugar-based drinks due to its convenience and the influence of marketing. To commence with, with the convenience and availability, the sugary beverages can be easily accessible in vending machines, fast food restaurants, and convenience shops. Moreover, due to the busy pace of morden life, these drinks tend to become the quick and temping option for people looking for a convenient energy boost. Another reason which affects the increase in surgary drink consumption is the influcence of marketing. Some beverage companies make several attractive commercials, some endorsements by celebritis and target the young audiences. As a result, people, esspecially the youth, are dawn to these drinks, associating them with exciting and glamorous lifestyle.

To reduce sugary drink consumption, several strategies can be employed. Firstly, the government can impose stricter regulations on marketing and advertisements of sugar-based drinks, particularly younger and children. There can be more limitations in advertisements in media commonly assessed by the youth. Furthermore, more public health campaigns can be organized, which can make people have clearer understandings of the health risks related to these sugary beverages such as: obesity, diabete,...., consequently, promote a healthy lifestye among people.

In conclusion, the rise in sugary drink consumption is driven by factors such as marketing, convenience, and affordability. To mitigate this trend, governments, communities, and individuals must work together to limit marketing to young people, raise public awareness, and make healthier alternatives more accessible.