People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Nowadays, it is observed that individuals are inclined to opt for beverages which contain a huge amount of sugar. There are some factors attributed as the causes of this propensity and from my perspective, some ideal measures need to be practiced in order to deter people from consuming sugar-based drinks excessively.

On the one hand, experts have put forth some causes contributing to the prevalence of this proclivity. Firstly, the taste and smell of these beverages are appealing to humans. For example, in Vietnam, numerous children tend to drink a great amount of sugar-based drinks like Coca Cola or Pepsi in light of their sweet taste. Consequently, the prolonged consumption of these drinks could render people more susceptible to some illnesses such as diabetes or obesity. Furthermore, drinking beverages containing sugar could help individuals sufficient in energy to continue working. This is because these drinks supplement enough sugar for humans’ bodies to function and make them stay awake. Therefore, not only might sugar-based drinks help people to devote their focus to their projects and work more productively but also assist them in lightening their tension and fatigue.

On the other hand, there are some viable approaches that ought to be taken into account to incentivize people to cut down the consumption of sugar-based beverages. The first method is that authorities should impose higher taxes on these drinks owing to the fact that individuals do not want to lavish money on purchasing these products. Thus, in order to save up a great amount of money, people tend to choose other types of beverages such as coffee or tea, which are much healthier than drinks containing too much sugar. Moreover, governments also need to promulgate the injurious influences of sugary beverages on the health of consumers. This could be perfectly exemplified by the fact that Ho Chi Minh’s authorities have initiated programs relating to the risks of sugar-based drinks. It may lead to the fact that the proportion of people buying these beverages has plummeted.

In conclusion, explicitly, it is indisputable that some factors have encouraged people to consume too much sugary drinks, which could exert deleterious impacts on their health; nevertheless, there are some feasible ways that could be done to yield the best outcomes in terms of reducing the consumption of these beverages. Additionally, from my viewpoint, it is desirable for consumers to drink a moderate amount of sugar-based drinks to avoid contracting sicknesses associated with sugar.