People are living longer than in the past. Many people think that this trend is negative for society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, thanks to the rapid medical advancement with state-of-the-art healthcare facilities, the people’s longevity are significantly increasing. It is a common belief that this phenomenon would exert pernicious impacts on the community. From my perspective, I genuinely agree with this assumption and this essay would provide valid support for my verdict.

Initially, it is quite tangible that one of the most adverse effects of the proliferation of the aged is the adverse effects on the medical system. This is mainly derived from the fact that, the older individuals are, the more health-related problems they have to confront; thus, when rising life expectancy occur, there would be an overwhelming burden on the healthcare system. In Japan, for instance, the aging population with a vast majority of above-70 citizens in its population, has witnessed a serious lack of medical practitioners and medical facilities to aid aged patients. As can be seen from this real example, the expansion of people’s longevity would irrefutably take a toll on the medical field.

The other justification behind the negativity of longer life expectancy refers to the huge source of national budget might have to be spent to keep the national pension system running properly. As a matter of fact, citizens above 70 are often regarded as being retired and not a part of the labour force. Additionally, most state officials and enterprises in many nations are responsible for paying the pension and allowance for the aged, which occupies a large proportion of the demography. Consequently, it’s not an exaggeration to indicate that the ever-increasing longevity of people is detrimental as it is putting the national pension system on the verge of bankruptcy.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I hold a strong belief that the increasing life expectancy is negative regarding its adverse influences on the healthcare and national pension system.