Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Economic development is obviously one of the top priorities of any government across the globe. While some individuals believe this growth has a seriously harmful impact on the environment, I would argue that this development is the only solution to stop poorness and starvation.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is claimed that the environment is negatively affected by the economic growth. Firstly, when a country focuses on growing its economy, there are definitely more factories and plants are built in that country. This would lead to high levels of exhaust fumes and CO2 emission being emitted into the air and make air pollution become serious. Secondly, manufactories also create a huge amount of waste and garbage, which has a devastating effect on the rivers and oceans. For instance, the waste water emission of a foreign company located in Dong Nai province of Viet Nam in recent years has resulted in the mass death of fish in Dong Nai river.

On the other hand, I believe that developing the economy effectively helps to cease the impoverish situation. The first reason is that a wealthy economy creates more job opportunities that allow each citizen to easily seek for stable careers and have a decent income. For example, the unemployment rate in America, which is usually ranked as the leading economy of the world, is always lowest thanks to its sustainable economic enhancement. Moreover, if many businesses and enterprises are successful, they will in turn greatly contribute to the nation’s budget through the tax system. This fund will consequently be allocated on building houses for the miserable elderly, homeless people or doing charity.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the rapid development of economy may have an adverse influence on the Earth, I believe this growth effectively helps to increase the nation’s growth and minimize the problem of impoverishment.