People change their career and place of residence several times during life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past, people used to work in the same job for a lifetime and live in the same place from birth to death. Today, however, job hopping and home moving have become much more frequent. From my point of view, both individuals and society benefit from such development.

​From an individual perspective, hopping from one job to another can be highly rewarding. More specifically, if people change jobs often, then they are always challenged with a lot to learn, making their learning curve stay high. With more professional expertise and work experience comes better salary. When it comes to moving to live in a new city or even a new country, people may experience a great deal of fun and exhilaration. For example, a family from London where there is no coastline at all will certainly be amazed by the sea view if they relocate to Southampton. This means that frequent relocation may be really exciting.

From the perspective of the society as a whole, changes in career and residence can also be beneficial. With regard to the former, job hopping increases the intensity of competition in the office. In other words, newcomers with better competence always drive those employees who have been satisfied with themselves to be more engaged and devoted. As for the positive effect on society of frequent moving home, I believe that it stimulates the need for housing and therefore boosts the economy of both places when people leave and arrive.

In conclusion, although some people may argue that frequently changing jobs and residence may be detrimental in terms of job security and social networking stability, I strongly believe that this modern way of living is generally positive to individuals, companies, and communities.