People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life.

What are these problems?

Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

City population size has risen at an unprecedented speed in recent years due to the urbanization. Some people are of the opinion that city dwellers have to confront various problems, which I believe should lead the government to encourage people to move to the regional area.

There are numerous problems that city dwellers struggle to handle though I believe that overpopulation is one of the greatest ones because it results in many serious living respects such as poverty or crime. Due to the large population, a high and rising unemployment rate alongside with high living costs forces a part of the citizen into poverty. As proof, of the 49.3 million Americans working part-time, 11.4% live below the poverty line closely in line with the 11.8% overall poverty rate. In long term, people cannot break out of the vicious cycle of poverty and they commit crimes as a way of making living. Shoplifting or pickpocketing gains popularity. Additionally, serious crimes such as robbery or murder pose a dangerous threat to society. As a result, people living in large cities may not have a sense of safety and security.

I am of the idea that citizens should be encouraged to relocate to satellite cities. This can solve the aforementioned problems simultaneously. Should people move away from metropolises, the population in these cities will be declined, leading to reducing pressure on several problems like unemployment, traffic congestion and other social issues. In addition, the government should invest more money in town infrastructure and facilities to attract more and more dwellers.

In conclusion, overpopulation is amongst the most serious problems facing city residents nowadays, and personally relocate people to other areas to live seems to be possible solutions.