People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a great debate about the benefits of pleasure reading and watching TV. While some people think that television programs are better for one’s improvement in creativity and language skills, I completely agree that the thinking capability and linguistic competence of a person are better developed by reading.

On the one hand, despite there are some channels that can trigger their viewer’s imaginative thinking such as National Geographic or Discovery Channel, most television shows only give vivid images and visual effects which make viewers absorb information passingly. Since no extra effort in thinking is needed, people who watch TV a lot will most likely be lazy to conceptualize any originality in the information. Moreover, the languages used on TV are also mostly informal and straight forward, in tune with the reads to deliver the message quickly. Therefore, while the listening skill might be improved after prolonged exposure to the TV, not much else can be developed, linguistically.

On the other hand, reading for pleasure, as an active method of knowledge acquisition, allows people to create and memorize concepts more clearly. First of all, the text format contains a little illustration, they deliver the writer’s idea though words and phrases. As a result, readers are pushed to convert words and sentences into images and motion pictures in their minds. For example, Grimm’s Fairy Tales has allowed children to fantasize and use the creativeness to construct their representation of reading also gives people a chance to expose the languages better. There are many books which are not written in our mother tongue can develop a strong formal and proper. Besides, many studies have shown a strong linkage between time spent reading and word improvements.

In conclusion, reading books by far superior to watching TV in terms of creation and language development because reading gives people total control of their minds. In an information-filled world, the ability to control your thoughts is the key to improve yourself.