Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the role of history in our present life. While a lot of people insist that we can not gain anything from understanding the life of humans in the past, I am more convinced that history does teach us precious lessons.

On the one hand, the uncommon use of historic subjects and the different interpretation of historical events are the main reasons why people think it is pointless to learn from the past. Firstly, history is the field that is rarely used in people’s lives so it would be better to focus on science or technology which is more relevant to the future and today’s society. Secondly, each historical events have different perspectives which can be interpreted differently; therefore, making our learning process of history less valuable. Moreover, many historical documents were falsified which could cause a misunderstanding of people’s beliefs.

On the other hand, I personally prefer the view that our past is the key information that can help us to grow in the present. There is no doubt that history helps young people observe how their culture and country have evolved. For example, in Vietnam, we have always been taught to take pride in our history because what our forefathers experienced and suffered in the past is making our country what it is today. Furthermore, it is essential for both people in the past, present, and future to never forget historic events in order to honor the memory of those lost and to ensure it never happens again.

In conclusion, although there are some people who believe that we can learn nothing from the past but the impractical knowledge, I still prefer the thought that history is definitely the valuable source of information that can bring benefits to our human lives.