People should look after their health as a duty to the society where they live, rather than for their own benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary settings, there exist divergent opinions regarding the reason for staying healthy. Among those, a noticeable assessment is that people ought to take care of their health in order to serve the community instead of their personal requirements. While I am in accord with the duty of contributing to society, I also believe that people’s own merits deserve to be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that people have to be healthy to fulfill their obligation with society. Since they were born, the majority of citizens have had their basic demand fully met, ranging from residential area, wearing to food and drink thanks to tranquil community. In order to protect and further develop their society, citizens assume an essential part of consistently working and contributing, which initially demands good health conditions. Obviously, without proper ability to be active in the workforce, individuals may be instead become burdens of the whole system. As a result, society may only flourish when most citizens are constantly aware of their well-being.

On the other hand, keeping fit is of paramount importance to individuals themselves as well. This is due to the need to release the meaningful moments to their own life. Being physically and mentally healthy allows for a multitude of experiences, be it traveling abroad or passionately pursuing their dreams. To illustrate, it is hard for ill people to express happiness on a daily basis, as they are fraught with worries and unable to devote themselves to other activities. In other words, should people desire to truly comprehend the significance of their life, they at first need to be in a good health state.

In summary, I opine that looking after people’s well-being is a favorable activity to cater to both society and their own lives. Therefore, if citizens can marry these two goals, it is highly likely that they not only develop themselves but also contribute to the sustainable betterment of the community.