People think that countries should produce foods their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the priority to enhance residents’ quality of life, it is questioned for each country whether the import of food should be limited to promote national food production. While self-supply of food can be beneficial to some extent, I believe that food imports should be encouraged under certain circumstances.

On the one hand, it is advantageous to invest in national food production. Once a country can self-supply food for its population sufficiently, that country can be independent of food sources. The independence of food sources could be one of the essential factors for national sustainable development. Additionally, regional food manufacturing, if invested properly, could not only improve products’ quality but also provide more job opportunities for the local denizens. Moreover, the reduction of imported food could alleviate environmental problems caused by food transportation.

However, I take the view that not all countries should put a limit on importing overseas food. For China, where the population is usually over the domestic provision of food, importing food is crucial. If the policy of limiting imported food was applied, the demand of all the denizens could hardly be satisfied due to the insufficiency of food. One benefit of importing food is that the consumers can have a variety of food choices and properly can experience different cuisines within a country. Besides, food import plays a vital role when it comes to the economy, contributing a considerable income for countries and relating jobs as well.

In conclusion, the self-production of food may be necessary for the sustainable development of a country, but food imports could play an important role in enhancing denizen’s well being and national economy.