People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

Individuals today are suffering from high levels of anxiety no matter where they are. The essay discusses possible reasons for this and steps that can definitely be taken to tackle the problem.

There are some reasons why people feel unsafe regardless of their location. The first reason is that the crime rate is rapidly increasing. Therefore, it makes people anxious about their safety when staying at home. They fear that thieves can break into their house, steal their property and pose a risk to their life. Another reason is that due to the growth of transportation, the number of traffic accidents is rising. As a result, people tend to hesitate to go out to avoid dangers. For example, in Vietnam, due to the high rate of traffic accidents, people prefer staying at home rather than going out.

Some simple measures can be implemented to tackle the root causes of the problem. The first solution is that governments can install more security cameras in residential areas to prevent criminals from breaking into people’s houses. As a result, this can help people feel safer at home. Another solution is that residents should be encouraged to use public transport, thereby reducing a great number of private vehicles which is perceived to be the main cause of road accidents. In the long term, imposing stricter punishments for driving offenses should be implemented in order to improve road safety and ease people’s fear when going out.

In conclusion, the increasing crime rate and the traffic accidents are two main reasons making residents anxious regardless of their location. Installing more surveillance cameras in residential areas, encouraging residents to use public transport, and imposing harsher penalties for road safety violations can be done to ease people’s nervousness.