People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

It is true that many people think that they are no longer safe either in their own houses or when they are in streets or other public places. Some causes for this feeling can be identified, but I believe that some solutions could help to allay those fears.

The perception that society is unsafe and that people are at risk even at home stems from at least two important causes. Firstly, the widening gap between the rich and the poor is one of the factors behind the rising crime rate in many countries. In Vietnam, for example, burglary and robbery have become increasingly common, because some criminals turn to crime simply as a way to survive. Secondly, everyone who uses the roads is aware of the dangers resulting from the dramatic increase in traffic. In the past, parents allowed their children to play freely in the street, but this is unthinkable nowadays.

Some simple measures should be implemented to deal with these root causes of insecurity. It is necessary to provide more job training programs to help people out of poverty and into employment. With increasing prosperity and opportunities, the need to steal from others would be reduced and everyone would feel safer. In terms of greater security on the roads, more surveillance cameras should be installed. These could be placed on trains and buses and also sited along major roads, which would help to ensure that motorists obeyed speed limits and drive safely. The public would feel much safer knowing that such cameras were in place.

In conclusion, the problem of poverty as a cause of burglary and robbery and the problem of road safety can be tackled by effective measures, giving people a greater sense of security.