People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What

are the causes? What are the solutions?

Home and outside security are important topics of concern in modern society. NOWADAYS, due to rampant social unrest that life can be threatened at any time and place. Some explanations for this problem will be put forward, before a few possible solutions are drawn.

There are two significant reasons as to why there are apprehensions of street and resident safety. First, the wealth disparities between the rich and the poor correlate with higher crime rates. As a consequence, financial instability pushes people into resorting to offences in order to shoulder money burdens. For example, in Vietnam, burglary and robbery have become increasingly common DUE TO THE DIRE LACK OF MONEY AND THE INABILITY TO FIND EMPLOYMENT. Besides, although legal bodies have UNCOMPROMISINGLY STRUGGLED AGAINST CRIMINALS, street crimes such as pickpocketing, homicide, armed attacks still tend to increase.

Accordingly, many people prefer to stay at home rather than WANDER STREETS. Additionally, when being out on the streets, individuals are usually exposed to different types of pollution such as noise or air pollution. This might negatively affect people’s health and can even lead to fatal consequences.

Several measures can be implemented to ensure GREATER security IN THE INTEREST OF CITIZENS. An obvious solution is to tackle poverty by providing job training, which may prevent criminal activity. For example, numerous carpentry apprenticeship programs in Vietnam are launched to improve the quality of skilled labour. Therefore, the crime percentage had dropped significantly. Another solution is that surveillance cameras should be installed to help police enforce safety on public transport and roads, limiting vehicle speed and stopping careless driving.

To conclude, housing and street insecurity are caused by many factors, including the increase in traffic accidents. There are some solutions to improve safety at home and on the road, such as providing more CCTV coverage.