People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In recent years, there has been widespread concern about safety, whether people are inside or outside their accommodation. This paragraph will analyze the underlying reasons and outline some feasible solutions to this phenomenon.

On the one hand, this problem has both understandable objective and subjective causes. In terms of staying at home, people still suffer from cyberbullying. In other words, with the advent of cutting-edge technology, electronic aggression can occur every time, normally on social platforms, where people can freely comment and criticize anonymously. Therefore, different from conventional bullying, everyone can be victimized everywhere by online bullying, even if they are in their own house. Moreover, burglary is also a notable factor that fuels people’s fear of being at home. According to research conducted by the FBI in 2015, the burglary sector made up for 20% of crime statistics, which is an alarming rate compared to previous years. When it comes to being out, crime appears obviously. There are a variety of offenders on the streets, especially in urban areas, ranging from robbers to killers; which are a potential danger to the residents. To conclude, there are several contributors to the anxiety for the safety of people either at home or when they are out.

Some viable solutions can be used to remedy the aforementioned issue. Firstly, using electronic devices intelligently and suitably is perhaps the best for dealing with cyberbullying. To illustrate, for example, in Facebook, people should not add friends with strangers and only follow wholesome pages. Secondly, people need to learn some basic defensive skills to protect themself from criminals both inside and outside their homes; however, if the adversary has a weapon, people should shout out for help or run as fast as possible.

To summarise the point, the reason why people do not feel safe whether they stay at home or out is wide-ranging, from cyberbullying, burglary for the fear of being inside home to a variety of crimes on streets. Nevertheless, some proactive practices are useful to address this phenomenon.