The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Nowadays, there’s a growing number of overweight children specifically, in the western society, in the last decade it had increased around a fifth. This essay will highlight and discuss the main causes of obesity and the resulting effects. There are several reasons for the high obesity rate amongst the youth. The most common through all the years is the excessive consumption of fast foods.

To begin with, obesity amongst children can be attributed into two factors; junk foods and lack of exercises. Studies have shown that the consumption of fast food has been linked to obesity in the recent years. These foods often includes unhealthy excessive fat products, salt and sugar. Since most families consist of working parents and due to their busy schedules, they turn to fast food for their kids, as this is because they are cheap to buy and easy to be prepared and above all, readily available for consumption. Secondly, the rapid technological development created an inactive and unhealthy physical lifestyle. They are screen addicts, children spend long hours watching TV, iPad, playing video games and anything virtual.

The mentioned causes have impacts on the well-being of children. The foremost effect witnessed is on the cardiovascular system (the heart), giving rise to aliment like increased and uncontrolled blood pressure, aneurysm and other related conditions, which leads to life threatening situations like heart attacks. To other repercussion is diabetes, which can lead to organ failure if there’s no drug compliance as there an everyday usage of medications must be needed. Furthermore, launching awareness campaigns in schools and social media financed by government, will raise people’s awareness on high risks of obesity among children.

Thus, to conclude the topic, it can be finally commented that consuming unhealthy diets like fast food and pre-prepared meals has a bad effect on the body system. So, we should make it a duty to be conscious with what the growing child eats and homemade food from natural resources will be of great help. However, if parents, teachers and the government make a concerted effort this problem can be tackled effectively.