The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Among Western societies, there is an increase number of overweight children by nearly 20% over a decade. This essay will outline the reasons behind the recent phenomenon as well as the consequences.

First of all, one of the reasons is that sedentary lifestyle, particularly poor physical activities has influenced youngsters to become overweight. Together with the addiction of video-gaming activities, juveniles prefer spending longer time indoor to building their physical fitness. For instance, Minecraft, American’s kids favourite video game, may lift up children snacking habit increasing BMI at an early age. Furthermore, poor children's diet preferences can be affected by parent’s responsibility to serve healthy lifestyle. Apparently, most of American parents often purchase lunch or dinner in fast food restaurants, particularly McDonald’s. Faced with greater time constraints from childcare, they turn to highly-processed foods (sugarcoated and trans fat) without considering nutritional value.

Regarding aforementioned factors, the profound effect relates to individual’s well-being, particularly health problems. Obesity in children may inflict their its cardiovascular system (heart attack and diabetes), giving rise to uncontrolled blood pressure and increasing level of cholesterol. This can be harmful in the long run leading to premature death. Moreover, South Korean overweight adolescents more likely experience body-shaming among their peers. Such bullying can influence them to feel embarrassed with themselves that greatly affects the self-esteem. Consequently, these individuals fear to interact with people shaping them to be loners and socially awkward, even undergoing dissociative disorder.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind a phenomenon of children’s corpulence, including lack of physical activities due to digital addiction and the preference of unhealthy diet consumption. Indeed, this may engender serious physical and physiological problems to children’s life.