The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Among Western societies, there is an increase number of overweight children by nearly 20% over a decade. This essay will outline the reasons behind the recent phenomenon as well as the consequences.

First of all, one of the reasons is that unhealthy lifestyle has influenced youngsters to become overweight. Together with the greater technological improvement, juveniles encourage spending too much time in indoor activities. Considering that, playing Minecraft, American’s kids favourite video game, may contribute to children snacking habit enhancing childhood phase experiencing an increase of BMI. Furthermore, poor children's diet preferences can be affected by parent’s responsibility. Apparently, mostly American parents are likely purchasing lunch or dinner in fast food restaurants, particularly McDonald’s. Faced with greater time constraints from childcare, they often turn to convenience foods without considering nutrition fact that tends to be high in sugar and fats.

Regarding aforementioned factors, the profound effect relates to have an effect on individual’s well-being particularly health problems. Obesity in children may inflict its cardiovascular system (heart attack and diabetes), giving rise to uncontrolled blood pressure and increasing level of cholesterol. This can be harmful in the long run and lead to medical complications. Moreover, South Korean overweight adolescent are more likely to be victims of bullying. it can influence them to be embarrassed with their body-shape that greatly affects their self-esteem. Consequently, these individuals fear to interact and socialize with people shaping them to be loners and socially awkward.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind a phenomenon of children’s corpulence, including lack of physical activities because of advances in technology and unhealthy diet selection have a bad impact on the child’s body system. Indeed, this may engender serious physical and physiological problems to children’s health.

287 (50 menit)