The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Over the past 10 years, western countries have recorded an upward trend, standing at approximately a fifth in obesity among adolescents. Due to the fact that our society is becoming more and more sufficient, and our lives are meeting the demand for every aspect of materials. This essay will shed light on more details about the reasons why this occurred and examine the consequences of the worrying trend.

The overweight status may spring from the fact that students nowadays have to attend a myriad of lessons both online and offline to live up to their parent's expectations. It is apparent that the more prospective our society is, the more pupils have been put an enormous strain in order to achieve a dream job in a competitive future market. As a result, they do not have enough spare time to enjoy themselves as well as engage in physical activities to keep fit. Moreover, with the popularity of junk food, it seems that teenagers pay much attention to this kind of food because of its convenience and time-saving. The youth is now living in the hectic pace of life, lacking time to prepare a nutritious meal, thereby consuming fast food from MacDonald’s, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Pizza Hut is an ideal option for them. In the long run, they will get into unhealthy eating habits with unbalanced diets, leading to overweighting.

An increase in the number of obesity children makes them suffer several serious adverse effects. Firstly, this will have a negative impact on their health. Because of taking in excessively ready-made meals, they may get stuck in health-related diseases, especially diabetes. By that I mean, a child has to be rejected with insulin for the rest of their life. Even worse, this is one of the primary factors causing the premature death due to heart attack. Not only this, overweight children often experience bullying from other childre, which known as body shaming phenomenon. Consequently, it may affect on their mental health. Gradually, children are self-conscious about their appearance, and hide in their shell, leading to psychology issues such as depression, and overthinking.

To sum up, there are many reasons of obesity amongst children, and a variety of negative effects both on physical health and mental problems. Therefore, society must guarantee steps are taken to prevent this problem from deterioting future.