The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In this day and age, child obesity has become an alarming phenomenon in Western countries. The rate of overweight children has been elevated by close to 20% in these nations in a decade. this essay will take a closer look at the causes before examining the negative ramifications it brings.

There are two ubiquitous reasons for the rising levels of overweight children that have been recognized. Firstly, processed food, which children nowadays tend to consume too much, leads them to gain weight quickly as they are very extremely high in fat and sugar but low in vitamins and fiber. Another factor to consider is that children lead a sedentary lifestyle. To be more specific, they spend a huge amount of time watching TV, playing games, or surfing the internet instead of playing sports or going outside. The lack of physical exercise, as a result, they cannot burn off excess calories, getting obese is almost inevitable.

obesity poses the potential risk of various physical and psychological problems among children. To begin with, overweight children are prone to some dangerous diseases, especially diabetes. children who suffer from this debilitating illness means they have to be injected with insulin for the rest of their life. Furthermore, getting obese works as a contributor factor to

experiencing low self-esteem in children’s life. In the other words, overweight children cannot stop comparing themselves to others and feel unconfident. Even worse, these children have suffered from depression or social anxiety disorder, which is a big barrier to them having a comprehensive development.

In conclusion, children gain weight too much and get obese due to improper diet and sedentary lifestyles. Additionally, obesity produces a harmful influence on children's lives.