A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Understanding of life value is the most important thing to be human. In recent days, people believe that their worth can be determined by material value and social status while to be polite, kind, and respectful seems to be outdated. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement because not all individuals think in this way and there are more and more people starting to value the old-fashioned worths.

On the one hand, it is true that everything can depend on money leading people to focus on material value. Especially, famous people, such as film stars and singers, have a big influence on ordinary others' vision by advertising their glamour living habits. In other words, those who have an expensive car and social famous status push the general masses up to be like them. This may cause to raise the importance of owing material value.

On the other hand, most people have a desire to create a loving family, trusted relationship, and to raise their children to be good citizens. In other to do it, we pay more attention to old-fashioned values, such as honor, trust, and kindness. It appears that more and more modern youngsters are starting to understand the benefit of outdated morals. For example, a recent study from the BBC shows that people spend more money on charity than on unnecessary parties compared to previous years.

In conclusion, it seems that although money needs to cover life -basic needs, it's long-lasting value is less than the good morals or characteristics of the person.