Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Wasting food is a common phenomenon today, either wasting restaurant-bought food or supermarket-bought food. This essay will explain the reason why people throw their food and provide the way to prevent this trend.

To start with, it can be said that humans always try to fulfill their daily needs, and food is the important one. However, people consider that food which they own is not enough, so that they buy food in restaurants without thinking first, and actually it is more than enough, leading to wasting their food. Moreover, in supermarkets, the food product which is sold sometimes close to expired date, and people assume that it is not safe to eat something that is almost expired. By this, it means that people are reluctant to eat that food inasmuch as they are afraid that it will be harmful for them,

Considering some solutions, first, it is important to make a list and make a priority scale on food that they have to buy, meaning that they will buy foods based on their needs, so that wasting food could potentially be prevented. Second, before selling their food products, the grocery stores can check their product’s expired date first in order that they could potentially minimize throwing food. Furthermore, the customers have to be careful when they want to purchase foods in the supermarket.

To sum up, it can be seen that the reason why people waste their food are buying without thinking and not being careful in checking expired date. Making list and checking expired dates are the possible ways to prevent this phenomenon.