Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There are concerns about plastic products used daily, such as bags, bottles, and other similar things in many countries. While it is argued about what the drawbacks of plastics to the environment are, I believe that citizens and the authorities could take some measures to tackle those issues.

There is no denying that the environment suffers from significant drawbacks when people regularly produce and use plastics. One of the problems associated with plastics is that the authorities must tend to cut down more wood to build new landfills, leading to the loss of massive amounts of land replaced by dumps because it will take hundreds of years for plastic bags or bottles to be disposed of in nature. Furthermore, plastic products are likely to have negative effects on food chains, particularly on aquatic creatures. If plastic waste is thrown away, species will accidentally swallow it as they hardly recognize that it is not food.

However, each person and their governments should take potential actions to minimize those damaging consequences. First, the government could foster citizens’ awareness of environmental protection by limiting the use of plastics. Besides, they are able to introduce new rules, such as applying new taxes on using or manufacturing plastic products, thus helping reduce the amount of them. Finally, waste, including plastic, should be gathered and processed by chemicals to avoid the chance for animals to eat it.

In conclusion, I personally find some solutions to address the damage caused by plastic products in nature, such as promoting knowledge in the community or processing them carefully before throwing them away. If people had no actions, there would no longer be a wonderful environment in the future.