Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that the excessive used of plastic as a material for bottles and goods is harmful to the environment. This essay will outline the consequences of this problem as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of the detrimental effect is that plastic pollution poses a significant threat to the wildlife and individuals as a viable transporter of toxic additives and pathogens. When microplastics end up on marine life, they can bind with persistent organic toxin fed by aquatic animals. Plastic Soup Foundation presents that PCBs (Polychlorinated biphenyls) can be accumulated in animal fats resulting children growth retardation in the long-term consumption. Furthermore, imbalance plastic wastes can contaminate agricultural soils reducing its fertility. As reported by Environmental Sciences Europe, their nanoparticle is hardly degraded by decomposer altering soil structure and declining eater-holding capacity.

Regarding the aforementioned results, a remarkable solution can be implemented through enacting innovative legislation as Singapore’s government. Along with Zero Waste Masterplan, they require residents to sort waste collecting over 3000 tons of waste that will generate waste-to-energy (WTE) plant producing their electricity daily. Moreover, people can be part of agents in environmental change by accustoming eco-friendly behaviour. National Geographics has been presents that using reusable bottle and shopping bag can cut down on the amount of litter on land and in the ocean as well as increasing their responsibility to the world.

To sum up, several remarkable effects reveal due to an issue of highly use of plastic including infectious disease spread on living things and land contamination. However, this can be tackled by implementing environmental regulation and accelerating individual’s habits by reusing plastic bag.